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What is Radon and Do you need an Inspection?

Radon is a radioactive gas that is invisible and odorless allowing it to seep into your home undetected. It comes from the breakdown of uranium in the ground and depending on where you live you might be at a higher risk. No matter where your house is located radon can build up in the confined space of your house and become a serious health risk. Radon is the second leading cause of lung cancer so we highly recommend having it inspected on a regular basis. The Radon level will fluctuate depending on how well your home in ventilated and how many cracks you have.

Entry Points

Radon can enter your house through any point where your house is in contact with the ground and there is a small crack. This includes floor drains, joints, gaps around pipes, window casements and any other cracks.

Health & Safety

As long as radon is at an acceptable level then there shouldn’t be any health issues. If the radon level gets too high and if you are exposed to it for enough time then there is a cause for concern. The concern multiplies if you or any of your family members are smokers since the combination of radon and smoking leads to 1 out of 3 smokers having lung cancer.

Radon Inspections

The only way to know if you have high levels is to test your home. It is simple and inexpensive. You have two options for testing:

  • Have a professional inspector conduct an inspection. (recommended)
  • Buy a testing kit and do it yourself. Testing kits cost between $30 and $60 and can be purchased from some hardware stores or online. Test kits include a radon detector that you simply place in your home. The detector after some time (3 months is recommended) has been sufficiently exposed to the fluctuating levels in your home. After the recommended 3 months you can send it to a lab for analysis. The best time to have a test is between September and April since your windows are mostly closed during our winter time.

Reducing the Radon Levels

The level in your home should be less than the Canadian guideline of 200 becquerels/metre³. If the level is higher then it needs to be reduced, the higher it is the sooner you should act.

Sub-Slab Depressurization

Sub-Slab Depressurization is one method you can use to reduce the radon level in your home. A professional will install a pipe through your foundation floor. The pipe will have a small fan attached that will blow the radon to the outside before it enters your home. Sub-Slab Depressurization can reduce the level by about 90%.

Ventilation and Sealing

The levels are related to how well your house is ventilated and how many cracks there are in your house. By increasing the ventilation and/or sealing the cracks in the ground the radon levels will reduce accordingly. This method is not as effective as the Sub-Slab Depressurization method mentioned above.

Do I need an inspection for a Condo?

If your condo is not on the ground floor then it is highly likely that you are safe and don’t need an inspection.

What now?

Clearly having your home inspected is of utmost importance. The risks of having high levels can be very serious and need to be addressed immediately.  In addition to Radon make sure you also get thermal imaging with your inspection. Get peace of mind and book an inspection today.

If you have any questions or need any clarifications get intouch with us today at youredmontonhomeinspections@gmail.com

The Your Edmonton Home Inspections Team

Target the Right Audience

When you’re developing a marketing strategy for your small business keep the ROI in mind. ROI stands for return on investment, for advertising purposes it measures the return on your ad spend. Small businesses have a smaller budget and need to be careful of how they spend their marketing dollars.  Targeting the right audience is critical in making the most of your ad spend.

Traditionally, small businesses marketing strategies follow a pattern. Many small businesses make use of flyers, branded cars, newspaper ads, and street signs. When I say small business imagine your local plumber or home inspector. These traditional methods throw out a message to the masses without any refined targeting. Usually, the small business owner will realize that the return on investment using the traditional method ends up being low. I always talk about the “Temperature Theory of Marketing”, for those of you who don’t know what that is let me explain.

Introduction to the “Temperature Theory of Marketing”

The “Temperature Theory of Marketing” talks about the market you are serving and the customer profile of that market. Just imagine a triangle representing the market you are operating in. We’ll Edmonton is the example I’ll be using since that is where I am located.

At the very top of the triangle, there is only a small percentage of the market. These are the people actively looking for your services. These people cost the least to convert into paying customers and they also are your most valuable customers. As we go down the triangle there are more and more people.  The more we go down the more it will cost you to convert them, and the less valuable the people are.

Focus Your Efforts

If you send out flyers to a neighborhood or drives his branded car around the city what is happening? The message is simply being blasted to many people. Most of these people have no interest in the service being offered. By focusing on the right customers you increase your ROI. When you spend less to get a customer you drive your costs down. If you are targeting the right people you will also convert more customers. So as a result of targeting, you are both decreasing costs and increasing revenue.

Targeting “Hot Customers”

Fortunately, a small business owner can do just that. The key is that these people are actively looking for your service. So where do people looking for your service usually go? Let’s examine 3 ways to do this.

Google Adwords

One way of getting in front of the right set of eyes is to use Google Adwords. The way Google Adwords basically works is that you bid on a few keywords.

Example:

If I am a home inspector in Edmonton I would probably bid on keywords like “home inspection Edmonton” and “home inspection companies in Edmonton”.  What happens is that every time someone searches a phrase that contains these keywords, if I’m bidding enough then my website will show at the top of the search results.

I only pay when someone clicks on my link and not simply see my link. This means that everyone who clicks on my link is searching for my service. These are all “hot customers” customers at the top of the triangle. I can also use negative keywords to make sure my website doesn’t pop up for certain search terms. For example, “how much do home inspectors make per year?” would be a negative keyword. People looking to become home inspectors are not looking for a home inspection.

Classifieds Ads

Google Adwords is a great way to target the right audience, for those that find Adwords overwhelming there is a much simpler way too. You can simply post your ads on classified websites like Kijiji. Many people who see your ads and respond to it are usually looking for your service too. Another benefit of posting your ads on a classifieds site is that most sites let you do it for free.

Lead Generation

The third option of marketing your business is through the use of lead generation sites. The way this works is a site reaches the first page of Google and puts a small quote request form on the landing page.  When a potential customer visits the site and puts in a request for a quote you will receive an email. The email can include things like the size of the property, property type, phone number, and address. Unlike Adwords where you pay every time someone simply visits your site and doesn’t necessarily put in a quote request, in lead generation you either pay a fixed amount per lead or per month. On top of that, you can immediately call up that lead and turn them into a client.

Benefits of Lead Generation

Lead generation is a nice way to develop a flow of customers to your business. It works while you sleep 24/7. Depending on what your services are you could be paying anywhere between a few dollars to over $100 in some cases. This all depends on what your customer lifetime value is, and the quality of your leads. As you can imagine a mortgage broker business would end up paying a lot more per lead than a plumber would. The reason being is that 1 client for a mortgage broker is worth thousands of dollars. A client for a plumber, on the other hand, could only be worth hundreds.

When you are looking for a lead generation website to partner with know the difference between exclusive and non-exclusive leads. Exclusive leads mean the website is only sending you the leads and naturally there is a premium you’d have to pay. When a website sends out non-exclusive leads, that means the customer is going to get phone calls from many different companies. With non-exclusive leads, you end up competing with different companies over the lead and naturally you pay less for this kind of lead.

Measuring ROI

So how do you measure ROI and why should you care? After I first graduated I went and worked at a new startup, while I was there we tried every marketing channel you can think of. We tried radio, flyers, door-to-door, and a lot more. Let me give you a few examples: if you spend $2,000 on printing and distributing flyers and in return, you ended up getting only 1 client that pays you $200 then your ROI is ($200/$2,000) * 100 = 10% (which is what happened when we tried radio and flyers). Remember that these methods target the masses so the conversion rate will be lower.

If on the other hand, you subscribe to an exclusive lead generation website you end up paying only when you receive a lead. If you are paying $10 per lead and you receive 100 leads you end up paying $1,000. Since these are “hot leads” you will convert more than you would convert from the flyers. If you convert 25% of those leads and on average each customer pays you $200 that means that: (25% * 100) = 25 customers. 25 customers * $200 per customer means that you make $5,000. The ROI in this case will be ($5,000/$1,000) * 100 = 500%.

In the first case you effectively paid $2,000 for 1 customer, this was your customer acquisition cost (CAC). In the second case, you are paying $10 per lead and 25% conversion rate. Which means that out of every 4 leads you get 1 customer so the customer acquisition cost is $10*4 = $40 per customer.

From the example above you can clearly see that targeting the “Hot Customers” has a much bigger payoff than blasting a message out to everyone. It’s this kind of marketing that will enable you to grow your business even if you’re on a budget. Get more customers for your home inspection business using exclusive leads services. It will only be  a short while before you start flourishing in Edmonton.

If you enjoyed this article please share it :). You can reach us at youredmontonhomeinspections@gmail.com

 

How much does a Home Inspection Cost in Edmonton?

Home inspection costs vary depending on a few factors that include: market, property location, property age, property size, competition, and extras.  In general, the cost usually falls between $400 and $700 but let’s take a closer look at the Edmonton marketplace.

Property Location

For most properties, the price of the home inspection would not be affected by the location of the property. In some cases, however, if the property you are looking to inspect is in a bit of a remote location then there might be a driving fee which shouldn’t be more than $50.

Property Age

Some home inspectors factor in property age when valuing a quotation. The reason some home inspectors do this is that there is a higher chance that an older property would have more issues. The more issues the home inspector finds the more time they will have to spend on the home inspection. This is just the home inspector making sure they are not undercharging when you look at it at an hourly rate.

Property Size

Of course, there is also the size of the property. A bigger property will simply take more time to inspect so the bigger the property the more they’re going to charge. Let’s look at an example below:

Upto 1500 sq.ft. 1501-2000sq.ft 2001-2500sq.ft. 2501-3000sq.ft 3001-3500sq.ft +500sq.ft
$499.00 549.00 599.00 649.00 699.00 +50.00

 

Market

Depending on the economic situation of the city you are in the prices will vary. If there are many people buying property then the prices will go up, otherwise, they will go down. Simple demand and supply. In Edmonton, there are a handful of home inspection companies that take the bulk of the business and then there are dozens more that take many smaller slices. The few companies that have the larger chunk of the business have done more home inspections as a result and probably are more experienced. But remember that all home inspectors should be certified so there is a minimum standard that they all meet.

The bigger companies probably have pretty good customer service to help maintain their reputation. The smaller companies can vary from very good customer service to needs room for improvement. You should also consider looking at the smaller guys since they might have some lower prices to try and get some customers in the door.

The bigger players have a dominating online presence that provides them with the constant stream of customers. On the other hand, the smaller players are heavily depending on referrals. I’ve talked with a few of them and there were cases that had only 2 bookings for the entire week. Alternatively, I talked to some of the larger players as well and many of these guys were fully booked for the weekend.

Extras

The Packages offered by home inspection companies in Edmonton vary. Some inspection companies offer Thermal Imaging included with the standard package while others have it as an extra. Common extras include the following:

  • Mold inspection  $50 and up
  • Radon Inspection   $100 and up
  • Allergen Inspection $50 and up
  • Pool Inspections   $200 and up
  • Air Quality Testing  $150 and up
  • Asbestos Inspection $50 and up
  • Lead Inspection  $50 and up
  • WDO (Wood Destroying Organism) Inspection $100 and up

 

So depending on these factors property age, property size, market, competition, property location, and extras the price of the home inspection will vary from about $300 to more than $1,000 for large properties with a few extras.

What can you do to lower the price of a home inspection?

For most people, lowering the price is not easy. If you are representing an entity that can supply the home inspector with a constant stream of leads you could reach a deal with a home inspector. Some people think that they can negotiate with the home inspector to lower his price while he is at the property since he already went through the trouble to arrive at the property. People also think that if an inspector seems to be light on bookings they can pressure him to lower his price since he needs the booking.

All these people forget one thing. Almost all the home inspectors would have you sign a contract beforehand. In most cases, you will receive the contract via email for you to sign and agree on items relating to conditions, liability, and price. They will only show up at the property if you signed the contract which also means that you can’t really change the price anymore.

So while the cost of getting a home inspection is very small in terms of the total costs involved in buying a house, it is important to have an idea about how much you should be getting charged and make sure that you don’t end up overpaying.

 What is Thermal Imaging?

     Thermal Imaging tells you the story of what’s happening behind the walls in your home. Thermal imaging is done with a thermal camera. It is a non-invasive way to detect differences in temperature behind walls. Thermal Imaging can pick up a difference of .6th of a degree.  This difference of temperature could be the result of:

Water leaks:

     Moisture from water leaks could lead to mold which ruins the home foundation or building. Any plumbing leaks, foundation leaks, roof leaks can be easily detected by a thermal camera because the time for temperature change in water is longer than the building itself. This temperature difference is easily picked up by thermal imaging.

Electrical faults:

     An overloaded or failing circuit will generate excess heat which could, in the worst-case scenario, cause a fire. Thermal imaging is able to pick up on an increased heat production near electrical wiring.

Insulation problems:

     If some parts of your walls or rooms are missing insulation, you can find out with thermal imaging. It is always better to find missing insulation during a home inspection than in the middle of winter.

Air leakage:

     Outlets, electrical panels, vents, chimney chases that are bringing in cold air can be found through thermal imaging.

 

Skipping Thermal Imaging?

     The problems caused by mold, faulty electrical wires or insulation can be financially detrimental. In addition, they can cause foundational and structural damage to your house. Dealing with these issues can be hugely disruptive to your everyday life. Getting your house checked for these potential issues during the home inspection will save you that nightmare.

Equipment and Samples

     Thermal Imaging is done using an infrared camera or imager. The most popular brands of infrared cameras for thermal imaging are FLIR, Fluke, and Keysight/Agilent. The higher the infrared resolution of the camera, the better the clarity of images it produces.

 

     One of the more popular cameras is the FLIR E5. With a resolution of 120 X 90, this camera can detect .10th of a degree difference.  Some examples of images produced by these cameras are:

     Seemingly normal to the naked eye, the infrared camera brings out the problems in this room. The area marked 1 shows a stark temperature difference, the area is warmer than its surroundings. Area 2 is colder than the surrounding areas indicating moisture due to a plumbing leak.  

     The darker coloured area indicates is colder and this can be due to moisture coming from roof leaks, plumbing leaks, or poor ventilation.

     The yellow coloured area represents hot or cold spots which can be due to missing or inadequate insulation, air leaks, or leaks in ducts.

 

Places that offer Thermal Imaging in Edmonton

     Now that we’ve established the benefits of thermal imaging, where can you get one? Below is the list of some of the places in Edmonton that offer it as part of their home inspection package. This means there is no added cost to you!

List:

Access Home Inspection Services:

Contact: 780-868-3152

JBR Inspections: 

Contact Office: 780-757-4988

John Rennie

780-221-1179

Brent Rennie

780-267-4411

Welcome Home Inspections: 

Contact: 

780-628-7117

Admirable Inspection Services Ltd: 

Contact: 780-218-7697

Braun Home Inspections: 

Contact: 780-908-0606

East Side Home Inspection:

Contact: 780-477-2666

Executive Home Inspections: 

Contact: 780-651-3608

Authorized Home Inspection Services: 

Contact: 780- 409-8099

 

Do you know of any other Home Inspection Companies in Edmonton that offer Thermal Imaging with their standard package? If so let us know and we will gladly add it to our list.

Choosing your Edmonton Home Inspector

You found the perfect house. You can visualize your life in this house. But, how do you make sure that the life in this house doesn’t come with hidden problems and repairs that you will have to pay for? You might not be able to test drive the house, but you can have the next best thing: a home inspection. A home inspector can figure out any issues with the house and save you from getting an awful surprise later. Don’t think you need a home inspection? Check out our article “Do I need a home inspection?” to learn more.

 

Finding Home Inspectors:

We’ve established the importance of getting a home inspector but where do you find one? There are a few places to look.

Friends and Family: Your own network is a good place to start the search. If you know someone that has recently purchased or sold a house, reach out to them. Your friends are also likely to give you an honest and full review of the home inspector they had. Also, since they were recently in your shoes, their experiences could provide some good lessons for you.

Online Resources: Online websites like the Alberta Professional Home Inspectors Society and Canadian Association of Home & Property Inspectors are great places to look for home inspectors in Edmonton.

 

Choosing Home Inspectors:

While choosing your home inspector, some important things to look out for are:

License: Home Inspectors are required to have a license in Alberta. You can check if a home inspection business is licensed on the Service Alberta website.  

References: Hiring a home inspector is employing someone to do work for you. Like any job interview, it is a good idea to ask your home inspector for references. You can ask the home inspector of their recent 2-3 customers and contact them for their review. Additionally, you can also look up reviews online on websites like Google and Yelp.

Knowledge and Training: In addition to a license, you should ask your home inspector about their training and if they keep up with continuing education courses. In Edmonton, you should also ask your inspector if they are knowledgeable about the Alberta Building Codes.

Errors and Omission Insurance: Your home inspector is required to have a type of professional liability insurance that protects companies and their workers or individuals against claims made by clients for inadequate work or negligent actions.

 

What to Expect:

Okay, you’ve chosen your home inspector and signed a contract with them. Now, what should you expect at the home inspection?

Your home inspector should check the following:

  •       Roofing
  •       Flashing and chimney
  •       Exterior including lot grading
  •       Walkways
  •       Driveways
  •       Retaining walls
  •       Patios and decks
  •       Structure
  •       Electrical
  •       Heating
  •       Heat pumps and cooling
  •       Insulation
  •       Plumbing
  •       Interior

You can also download our Free Home Inspection Checklist and review it or take it with you to your home inspection.

The home inspection will take around 2 hours. The inspector should make extensive notes and take pictures. Ideally, you should be present during the inspection, so you see that the inspection is up to standard and get any of your questions answered.

 

After the Home Inspection:

The home inspector should provide you with a detailed report on the house. The home inspection report must have notes on the items mentioned in the contract.

If there are major repairs to be done, you can ask your seller to do those or negotiate a lower price for the property. If your seller agrees to repair them, talk to your home inspector about a reinspection of the repaired parts.

 

Things to Remember:

  1. You should hire your own home inspector. A home inspector hired by the seller or your realtor will have their interests at the forefront. It is best to do the hiring yourself to avoid conflict of interest.
  2. The cost of a home inspection will vary with the square footage but should be around $500-$700. A small price to pay for your peace of mind.
  3. The home inspector cannot break down any parts of the house so remember that their inspection is of the physical condition of the house.

 

Thank you for reading and as always it’s a pleasure. If you have any questions or just want to say hi! Shoot us an email at youredmontonhomeinspections@gmail.com

 

Your Edmonton Home Inspections Team

Branding, why does it matter?

Running a small business is tough. There is a lot of competition, the barrier to entry is low, and there is a lot of hustle. When the competition is this tough you should do everything you can do to give you an edge. One thing you can do is focus on your branding.  In this article, I will talk about what you can do to develop your brand, things you should consider, and things to watch out for.

Benefits of Branding

Branding is very powerful. Some brands are so strong that they even become household names. Think of Kleenex, Hoover, Coke, and Jello, all these products are referred to using the brand name of a particular company. Kleenex is a tissue paper, Hoover is a vacuum cleaner, Coke is a soda, Jello is a gelatin-dessert product. People have a tendency to pay a lot more for a branded product in comparison to its generic counterpart. We can see this when we look at Advil and compare it to Ibuprofen, there are many such cases you can think about. Why do people pay more for what is essentially the same product with the exception of the brand? Partially it’s because of Peace of Mind. A well-branded product is a product most people can trust. It has been verified and validated by your friends and family.

If a small business owner can develop their brand successfully they will see their business improve by a lot. When you are operating a business with a lot of competition and low barriers to entry differentiating your brand becomes crucial. You want to stand out in an environment where without good branding you risk becoming “just another business”. By following the tips in this article you will become a few steps closer to building a strong brand.

Develop your Brand

How can a small business develop its brand? Think about what your strengths are. Is it that you always show up on time? Do you have the lowest costs? Best quality? Great customer service? You want to develop your brand according to your strengths.

Think about your competition. When you are working on your brand you should think about your competition. Do you want your brand to portray trust? Is there a competitor in the market that has a strong brand portraying trust? In case there is, you might want to reconsider your branding strategy. It may take a lot of time to replace an entrenched competitor as the brand people trust. You might want to consider finding a different brand identity. If there is a gap somewhere in the market it would be easier to fill that gap than to spend a lot of time and money competing with a competitor.

 

In the next few articles, I will further develop on how a small business owner can develop their brand using specific strategies. Make sure you also check out “Grow Your Home Inspection Business” and “Target the Right Audience” for more strategies to grow your home inspection business!

 

As always, if you have any questions send us a mail at youredmontonhomeinspections@gmail.com

Buying a House in Edmonton

So, it’s time to upgrade your rental apartment and buy your first house. But, where do you start? Where do you get yourself a good mortgage deal? How do you know the house you’re considering is in as perfect a condition as it appears to be?

If only buying a house was as easy as looking up a few and choosing one.  Like all things good in life, it takes a little more effort than that. But, don’t worry! We have a handy guide to break it all down for you.

The Finances

  1.     Determine your financial position: The first, seemingly obvious, question to ask yourself is can I afford a house? Unlike a rental, owning a house comes with some additional bills. In addition to your mortgage payments, expect yourself to be paying property taxes, property insurance, as well as utilities like heating that were previously paid by your landlord or condo. A good financial situation would be paying 32% or less of your gross household income for monthly housing costs. Now that you’re aware of your financial position, you can start to set up a budget for your purchase.
  2.     Prepare a budget: Paying more than you expected to for something never feels good. You don’t want that feeling to cloud your excitement of purchasing a new home. Buying a house will include additional fees that you need to budget for. Some common expenses incurred during the home buying process are:
    1.  Adjustment costs. ($300 – $500) – Reimbursing the previous owner for any utility payments or property taxes that have been paid beyond the closing date.
    2.  Legal fees. ($500 – $1000) – Paperwork done for the transfer of ownership.
    3.  Title insurance. ($300) – Although not required in Alberta, your mortgage provider might require this.
    4. Property insurance. ($700 – $1000 at closing, and then annually) Your mortgage provider usually requires you to have insurance to cover the replacement value of your home and its contents.
    5. Moving expenses.
    6. Utility service charges. ($35 – $50 per utility) Check with your utility providers to find out what your exact moving fees will be.
    7. Home inspection fee. ($350 – $600)
    8. Mortgage insurance. (Between 1.25 and 3.15 percent of your mortgage amount) If you have a down payment of less than 20 percent of your mortgage amount, you need to insure your mortgage. This cost can be paid up front or added to your mortgage.

The Mortgage

  1.     Get pre-approved for a mortgage: Getting pre-approved for a mortgage will put you in a relatively better position when making an offer on a home. So, how do you get this process started? Mortgage lenders include banks, mortgage companies, insurance companies, loan companies, trust companies, and credit unions. You should talk to several lenders to get what you’re looking for. You can also talk to a mortgage broker. Mortgage brokers find a lender for you and may be able to give you different terms to choose from. You can find a broker on the Mortgage Professionals Canada website. Your mortgage lender will look at your finances to pre-approve you for a mortgage.

With a pre-approval, you can know the maximum amount you may get as well as interest rates you will be charged. A pre-approval does not guarantee that you’ll get a mortgage loan for that amount. The approved mortgage amount will depend on the value of your home and the amount of your down payment.

Psst…by now your wallet might be feeling drained but there is a sliver of relief. First time home buyers get a First-Time Home Buyers’ Tax Credit which reduces your federal tax amount for the purchase year.

The House

  1.     Look up listings online: Now that you have your finances in order, it’s time for the good part. Research houses and neighborhoods within your budget to get a better idea of your likes and dislikes.
  2.     Get yourself a realtor: Getting a realtor will open doors for you. The doors of homes that might not be listed online. A realtor will also know the best places to look to suit your needs. Realtors are generally paid a commission on the sale price by the seller. It is a win-win as you get the expertise without paying for it. You can find one online at realtor.ca or ask family and friends.
  3.     Book a home inspection: You’ve found a house you like. But, is everything as perfect as it looks? The best way to find out is to get a home inspector. A home inspector will make sure everything is in order, so you don’t get any awful surprises after moving in. Your home inspector will check the physical condition of the house which includes roofing, walkways and driveways, retaining walls, patios and decks, structure, electrical, heating, insulation, and plumbing.
  4.     Putting in an offer: When you get the go-ahead from your home inspector, you can make an offer on the house. Your realtor will help with the communication during this step.
  5.     Get your house: You got your dream house. Congratulations! For the possession day, your lawyer will get your mortgage lender to release funds to the sellers for the keys of your new home.

 

Once you’ve bought your new house in our lovely Edmonton make sure you check out these top tips of things to do after you buy your house! As always it’s a pleasure.

 

Your Edmonton Home Inspection Team

Growing your Home Inspection Business

So you’re Ready to Grow your Home Inspection Business?

Starting off the Traditional Way

Many Home Inspectors start off slow. Almost all of them follow the same path:

  1. Get the licence and insurance
  2. Register a company
  3. Get a logo and a home inspection kit
  4. Brand your car
  5. Hope someone calls

This is the 5 steps most home inspectors follow. It should be no surprise that they find difficulty acquiring clients in the beginning.

The idea is that after you get a few clients they would refer their friends to you when the time comes. That is a very slow way to build a business. To grow your business you need a lead generator that feeds the leads into a sales funnel. In the sales funnel you need a process to maximize your conversion rate. Turn these leads into customers. There are different ways of doing this but today I will talk about the way you can target the right audience and why that matters.

Focus on the Right Audience

This idea was first shared with me with a Marketing Guru based right here in Edmonton. He approached a startup I was working at offering his services for $2000 per day of consultation or becoming the VP of Marketing. He called this idea the “Temperature Theory of Marketing” it is as follows:

In any service that you are offering (including home inspection) all the people in your market fall on a scale. Just imagine a simple triangle like the one below.

 

At the top of the triangle there are only a few people and as you go down it gets wider with more people respectively. If you are in a city like Edmonton with 1 million people then all the people in this triangle add up to 1 million. Different services have a different triangle shape as the distribution of people from top to bottom will change.

The people at the top of the triangle are actively looking for what you have to offer. They are few, but they are also the ones that cost you the least to acquire and are your most valuable to acquire. The higher up a person is in this triangle the more they are searching for the service you have to offer. It would cost you a lot less to acquire this customer than someone at the base of this triangle. In addition, these people at the top are the ones that will spend the most money on your services.

What does this mean?

So, we briefly talked about the “Temperature Theory of Marketing” but what does this mean for Home Inspectors? Home Inspectors are following the traditional way of marketing, the traditional way focuses on everyone. When a Home Inspector brands their car and drives around the city, the message is getting splashed around to everyone. If 1000 people see the car in a day it’s highly likely that 99% of the people are “cold customers”. “Cold Customers” are the people at the base of the triangle that have little interest in home inspection at the moment. Same goes for distributing flyers to a neighborhood or sending out a radio or tv ad. The message simply splashes everyone and the business doesn’t realize any significant increase in business. The Return on Investment (ROI) is simply too low. It would be a lot more useful to spend less and target a smaller audience but have that audience composed of 99% “Hot Customers”. “Hot Customers” are the best customer type you can have, these are the people at the top of the triangle. Complement this with good branding and you will reap many rewards.

So now what?

Over the next few posts I will talk about what exactly is ROI and how do we measure it? I will also do a post on how you can target the right audience and get those “Hot Customers” all at the lowest Customer Acquisition Price.

Read on and learn how you can Grow your Home Inspection Business!

 

Your Edmonton Home Inspections Team

 

 

Do I need a Home Inspection?

Absolutely. You’re not just buying a home to relax in, you’re also buying any problems that come with it in the walls, crawl space, or attic. Getting a home inspection is your chance to avoid those problems or, at a minimum, negotiate with the seller to pay for repairs. For a detailed guide to buying a house see our article “Buying a House in Edmonton”.

A typical inspection will cover everything from the roof to the foundation. In between, the inspector will also cover every major house system (plumbing, electrical, heating, septic,  etc.). Most also include tests for water safety and exterior. Usually Radon is not included in a standard home inspection, thermal imaging on the other hand is included in the standard package for some companies. A good inspection costs about $400-$500 and takes 1 to 3 hours (for a detailed look at Home Inspection Cost in Edmonton see our article “How much does a Home Inspection Cost in Edmonton?”). The cost varies depending on the size and age of the house as well as the company. Skipping inspections on new properties is not advised since despite it being new it doesn’t mean it’s flawless.

Given that the average home price in Edmonton is roughly $400,000, an investment in home inspection dwarfs in comparison. By having a home inspection you are ensuring that one of the largest investments in your life is in good condition. Avoiding this step could lead to surprises that end up costing you a lot to fix.

After you receive the findings report from your home inspector, review it and see if there are any deal breakers. In case there are defects, ask the seller to pay for repairs or negotiate a better price. Many sellers also get a pre-sale home inspection to know what to expect from the buyer’s side. They then go on to fix most of the issues they discover.

If you are considering buying a house, request a quote today and get a call from a professional home inspector. Remember, if you are buying your largest investment yet get in touch and get the peace of mind you deserve.

Your Edmonton Home Inspections Team

If you have any questions shoot us an email at youredmontonhomeinspections@gmail.com we’d love to talk!